Four Simple Steps to Backtest and Optimize Your EA on MetaTrader 5

James Hinton
6 min readJun 19, 2024

You’ve got an algorithm. You think it’s going to be great. Now you’re thinking to yourself, “Let’s test it out!”

I couldn’t agree more!

One the best features about MetaTrader 5 is it’s built in backtester — and it’s super simple to use!

In this article, I’ll show you how.

About This Series

In this series, I cover everything you need to build your own advanced Expert Advisor from scratch. I cover:

  • How to get started
  • Using built in technical indicators from MetaTrader
  • Making your EA autotrade
  • Adding some simple-yet-powerful risk management techniques to your EA
  • Backtesting and Optimizing your soon-to-be-awesome algorithm
  • Adding some advanced features

All of the code that I use is available on my public GitHub repo, and each episode contains working code snippets you can immediately use in your own trading bot.

If you’d like some more general help, join our Discord server here, and if you prefer content in a video format, you can check out my YouTube channel here.

About This Episode

--

--

James Hinton

Passionate algorithmic trader and Cyber Security expert. Love developing helpful content.